SGA Election Results 2020

Unite ticket elected to top posts in UGA student government

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia students have elected the Unite ticket to the executive branch of the Student Government Association (SGA) for the 2020-2021 academic year. The ticket consists of president-elect Asim Ahmed, vice president-elect Cheryl Kwapong, and treasurer-elect Carson Kuck. Unite was elected in a run-off after none of the three executive tickets received 50 percent of the vote in the general election.

This year, 10,416 students voted in the general election, representing 27 percent of the total student body, while 11,258 students voted in the runoff, representing 29 percent of the student body. The Unite ticket claimed 56.8 percent of the runoff votes cast with the Forward ticket pulling 43.2 percent.

Ahmed is a third-year student from Columbus majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology. Kwapong is a third-year journalism major from Buford, and Kuck is a third-year political science major from Cochran.

The Unite ticket’s campaign platform centered around efforts to promote community safety, improve resources for students seeking on- and off-campus housing, and financially assist students pursuing graduate studies.

The SGA inauguration ceremony is scheduled on April 6 at 6 p.m. in the Chapel.